Tags

, , , , , , ,

 POItulips flowers We at POI we are greatly humbled to feature this great social media and marketing titan. Who is    poised for greater heights  in changing both the mindset  of  stereotypical communities  and  the negative perceptions of us Africa  towards our  own craft prophets and theispians. Valeria Lemani is  a life changing  , mindset transformation  and Community awareness guru. She dives  into  Exposure  exhibitions  from  Art and Craft into  Art Marketing diplomacy to Social media  communications  and   relations.   Such a bundle of Creativity.

Contact POI at inspiringpersonalities@gmail.com, you can also  send your comments in  our commentary box   under our features and articles. We thank you for the great support and advise  , You always  proffer to us. CHEERS enjoy the Easter holidays.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup

What is your greatest life, artistic, academic and creative achievements?

I wouldn’t want to say that I have reached my peak in personal and career accomplishments but am consistently working towards improving myself so that I can impart a positive change in my community.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, closeup

 

I hold a Bachelor’s Degree in Marketing Management with IMM South Africa.

I started as a banker and my career in the industry spanned for more than 7 years. I have always been a people person, passionate, out of the box thinker and highly opinionated. The desire to expand my horizons inspired me to leave the banking sector at my own will, a radical move to my peers and my superiors who considered me to possess great potential for career advancement in the banking sector. I joined the auctioneering industry and that ironically was a platform to flourish and expose my real talents ……

I am currently employed with Hammer and Tongues Africa Holdings in the digital marketing department as a Social Media Guru and Blogger.

What roles are you playing in transforming communities?

I am passionate about my country and its people! I am Afrocentric, I live and breathe Art. Art as expressed in writing, in images, in sculptures and in craft.  This inspired me to start  a part time solo project which I began working on since 2015.I want to be the change and inspire the change that we want for our continent Africa. I believe in the untapped potential of local artists especially women and youth and it is a personal calling to expose their strengths through art and craft.  I use my digital skills in social media and electronic media to expose our unique talent to the international markets. This year we have sent a donation in the form of a postcard to an international exhibition in London (Twitrartexhibit) so as to raise brand awareness of our project. I also participate in local fairs and international festivals. We had a very wonderful experience last year at the Jameson Victoriafalls Carnival during New Year’s Eve where we held  an exhibition. They were thousands of tourists and indigenes  who attended the event and it was mesmerizing exposure!

I am also an advocate for art and craft awareness by our local community. Some Zimbabweans often shun our own art and craft labelling it ancestral worship. There is a need to  mindset transformation and help people appreciate our own unique beautiful work instead of buying the same products that have been exported overseas when they visit those destinations. I am quite excited about the new Art and Craft Awareness curriculum in ECD and Primary Schools which has exposed parents and teachers to the need to embrace our own culture.

What are your future prospects in your career and in your life?

Contribution to the growth of the Zimbabwean Economy.

Sustainable Development and growth of the local marginalised artists especially women and youth.

Forging of long term mutually beneficial relationships with international markets.

Boosting the tourism industry of Zimbabwe.

What is your parting shot to fellow women and girls?

Being a first born in a family of four girls I was disparaged at one point or another by the community because I was a girl child, my viewpoints were insignificant even though my opinion would have done  a lot  of difference.  I would feel the pain my mother got from the stigma perpetrated by some family members for not bearing a male child to carry the family patriarch.

 

However I did not let that pull me down. At one point or another despite your background or your position in society you will definitely experience stereo typical judgements from the community, let not that hinder you from being the lioness that you were meant to be. You have the potential to soar higher, there is no limit to what you can do. You are your own limitation!

You can follow my brand Rangertribe on Twitter @ https://twitter.com/Rangertribe.

Instagram @ https://www.instagram.com/rangertribe/

Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/thetribebrand/

WordPress Blog @ https://thetribebrand.wordpress.com/

Google plus @ https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/102318510483363984202/102318510483363984202

Etsy @ https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheTribebrand

Or contact me on valerialemani@gmail.com |077 5455439.

 

 

