Tags

, ,

I think that whatever your dreams and ambitions are, they need to be embedded in IT. Technology has no boundaries. Look! Businesses are rewriting the rules and you can explore any path anywhere, it’s so liberating, learn to collaborate beyond your country’s borders. Invest time in developing these skills and a real understanding of how it all works for you in your industry. Don’t be afraid or discouraged by any obstacles they are an essential part of the journey. They define, shape and build you up to cope with what’s awaiting you at your journey’s end.
Okay that was more than a parting shot, now wasn’t it?

TSITSI TSOPOTSA, CEO and Founder of Tsopotsa Publishing Limited (trading as Setseno) is a Zimbabwean born business woman and author. She has a published a novel, The Zebra Crossings, a love story that takes place across continents. Ms Tsopotsa is also the author of many short stories one of which has been dramatised.
Tsitsi Tsopotsa was educated both in Zimbabwe and the UK and her career and has spanned across several industries. She first trained as a nurse then worked part-time as a writer, photographic model before going on to achieve considerable success managing the first mass marketed female condom in Africa when she gained international recognition amongst the HIV/AIDS professional community for her innovative marketing strategy. The one time chief public relations officer and spokesperson for the Ministry of Health Zimbabwe says of her new business venture ‘Africa is full of potential. Of course I want to have financial success but the bigger picture is getting more unknown writers and artists onto the international stage and making a difference to their lives. It’s about creating opportunities where there have been none.”

What is your greatest life, artistic, academic and creative achievements?

Mmm now let me think life is very broad, I’ll narrow it down to something related to my interests. I cycled 500kilometres for a fundraising challenge for a charity. Hope that counts because that was really momentous for me, and when I was sitting alone thinking about it. I never thought that I’d make it. The cycle taught me the real meaning of perseverance, dedication and effort. Sometimes you think that you’ve squeezed every last ounce of effort, poured it into your current project – but there’s always that little bit more. I’ve learnt to stretch myself to reach my full potential. Endurance exercise is a great teacher and motivator. I also take great pride in being the first person to mass market the female condom in Africa. It was important because apart from the innovative marketing strategies that put the project on the map with international aid organizations, it created some meaningful collaborations amongst unlikely industries. But that was awhile ago now.
Academic would be getting an MBA in project management, that was a toughie. I’m glad I attained it because apart from all the knowledge i gained it also taught me that I’m more at home within the creative industry. Whatever that might be ; writing, supporting writers…
I’ve never really entered any writing competitions but my business idea (Setseno.com) won first prize in a local Dragon’s Den Competition. Aside from that I would say that The Zebra Crossings my debut novel is a close tie with one of my short stories – Diary of a USAHthe Zimbabwe US Dollar. I think completing and publishing my novel was a great accomplishment because it took a lot of discipline to complete and whilst it’s not a best seller, I’ve had great feedback from readers and been told that it brought back a lot of memories for people who experienced Zimbabwe pre-independence. Diary of a USAH? Well, you’ll see when it’s published or hear the play.

What roles are you playing in transforming your communities?


I used to write the health page for Edgar’s Magazine. Each month I’d introduce a new health topic based on incidence statistics. I was very focused back then on making it interesting and relatable. I didn’t think that I was making much of an impact until I got letters back from readers letting me know that it was just enough information for them to know when to seek medical advice and they felt more confident with coping with say that they were empowered. I was pleasantly surprised and I think that transformed some communities.
I’m building a writers and artists platform that enables our African brothers and sisters living at home; locals in other developing countries to have more opportunities on their terms. My vision is a site that reaches into their cities and towns; their communities; in fact right into their living rooms and makes them visible to the rest of the world. I believe that there is untapped talent in bucket loads. This is a way for the rest of the world to see that we are not just recipients we have major contributions to make to the art world in different formats; we just need a suitable outlet. That’s my contribution: a place where we sell our writing and our art and I know that the world can’t compete on our level because as I’ve witnessed time and again, our challenging environments make us harness our potential and release it in exquisite work, whether that be writing, creating art or music.
What are your future prospects in your career and your life?
Setseno is my future career and I plan to write and learn all I can about writing and share as much knowledge as I can. On a more practical level, I want to come home and do it all there. I’m at my best creatively, when I’m home.

What is your parting shot to fellow women and girls?

I think that whatever your dreams and ambitions are, they need to be embedded in IT. Technology has no boundaries. Look! Businesses are rewriting the rules and you can explore any path anywhere, it’s so liberating, learn to collaborate beyond your country’s borders. Invest time in developing these skills and a real understanding of how it all works for you in your industry. Don’t be afraid or discouraged by any obstacles they are an essential part of the journey. They define, shape and build you up to cope with what’s awaiting you at your journey’s end.
Okay that was more than a parting shot, now wasn’t it?

