Afrique Beat

Constance van Niekerk, Vereeniging,  S.A.

Saturday the 8th of November was a day to remember. I arrived in Johannesburg from Vereeniging shortly after 1 pm and quickly made my way down Bree Street to Newtown. The thick dark clouds in the sky were rich with the promise of impending rain.  That, however, did not deter me from going, nor did it dampen my spirits. I had this bubbling feeling that I was going to be in for a treat.

When I arrived at Niki’s Oasis Linda ‘Poetic Angel’ Gabriel was at the entrance to welcome her guests. Her demeanour and that radiant smile of hers spoke of the joy and warmth in her heart. I felt so very warmly welcomed indeed. I had obviously made the right decision in coming to Linda’s Farewell Poetry Slam.

Linda’s chosen venue had a palpable warmth and ambience.  It is, after all, the legendary…

View original post 639 more words

